AN ODE TO THE PALLET PAVILION: MONSTER MARCH MARKET…

Bonjour!

Two weeks ago I had a stall at my first market of 2014, the swonderful Lost & Found Monster March Market at our beloved Pallet Pavilion in the CBD. The market was held in conjuction with Anissa Victoria’s Vintage Market, so it was one wonderful giant baby of a market, and a rare thing happened, the CBD was heaving with people!

I’ve been meaning to write a post on this glorious day for the past week, however my doing this today seems somewhat fitting because in 48 hours the Pallet Pavilion will be no more. It will be deconstructed and cease to be the very unique hub of the arts community that it has become over the past 18 months.

1902983_532904976808647_1357257920_n

I admit, that during the first six months of the Pallet Pavilion’s short life, I was slow to adopt to it. However over the past year I’ve attended so many events; markets, talent shows open mic poetry, open air cinema, speed dating, live music, eaten so much good food from resident food trucks, met new and interesting people from all around the world, and have been amongst the last to leave the place a little worse for wear after too many beers, or smuggled in rum, than I’d like to admit…and now tonight, for the final ever night of the Pallet Pavilion, I will be attending a very special event indeed. A marquee is bering erected and we will witness the ‘Deconstruction Orcestra’ perform a musical piece composed especially for tonight. I don’t know much about it, but it looks crazy cool, and I’m really bloody happy that I get to join the rest of the Pallet Pavilion community to say farewell. I have a feeling it’s going to be a big night to remember…

The Pallet Pavilion really is a unique place, like nothing Christchurch has had before, or will likely see again. I’m acutely aware that a huge gap is going to be left with its departure. I guess we have to remember that we are living in a transitional city. These amazing temporary venues came out of rubble, at a time when we thought excitement was not possible, and whilst we are now reaching a point where they are being taken away from us, I try to be optimistic and remember that we are simply entering a new phase where new and exciting things are going to be born in their place. Still, part of what makes the transitional sites like the Pallet Pavilion so special is the artistic, makeshift and bohemian vibe that is unlikely to be recreated in a new permanent build that commands sky high rentals and therefore can only ever be occupied by corporate tenants and soulless bars. But we must have faith, and I hope that the bonds the artistic community that have forged over the past three years are strong enough to ensure that we create a new place for us by any means necessary.

So before I get all morose thinking about the end and start listening to Leonard Cohen, let’s look back at the Monster March market. It was the most fun, beautiful and sunny autumnal day, and as ever, it was very much the people that made it so fab. I bloody love these guys:

DSC02960

The Pavilion looking towards the Arcades, market in full swing. 

Queenie at your loyal service.
IMG_5912 IMG_5913

Cake stash. The stall holders secret weapon. 
DSC02961

My beau and creator of trouble, Tali, from Kotsu and Pandemonium, looking as graceful as ever.

DSC02966

Mel of Copper Kowhai, my stunning stall neighbour and taco buddy.

DSC02965

Purveyor of the best smelling candles in NZ, and freaky owner of additional limbs, Sue of Kandle CoDSC02967

Cool as a cucumber, Rob K, from Shit’s About To Get Dainty. As per usual, a large portion of what I earnt on the day was given to Rob in exchange for some of his fine wares. A picture similar to the one in the bottom of the picture now proudly sits in my hall.

DSC02969

The suave styles of Clint from PORTA Stencil Art and Nick of The Dear Ones Photo Booth Co. (WILL YOU LOOK AT THOSE BILL MURRAYS?!). I very much appreciate their posing efforts here. Nice work boys.

DSC02970

The gorge Anissa, mistress of Anissa Victoria’s Vintage Market, and now, her new CBD shop, Anissa Victoria Loves VintageDSC02971My soulmate in all things Leopard Print, and fellow Pinterest junkie, Jane of Remember When You Used to Be a Rascal.

DSC02973

And, of course, the woman behind it all – the Queen of Lost and Found herself – Abbie of Marcel and Bear. What a lady! DSC02974

The Queen was catered by some mighty tasty tacos from Mamacita’s food truck.
DSC02977A sunny Saturday market calls for beers (they made me do it).

IMG_5914No market is complete without some pissing around in The Dear Ones Photo Booth Co.

photo…but my fridge door is very much the better for it.

IMG_0869Post match beers at Smash palace.

IMG_5915Awww…I’m feeling a little sentimental now.

*wistfully stares off into distance* as slow piano music plays and we fade to black.

GOODBYE PALLET PAVILION. THANK YOU FOR PUTTING UP WITH ME!  Waaaaaaahhh….

Mwa! Mwa! Mwa x 1000

xo

3 thoughts on “AN ODE TO THE PALLET PAVILION: MONSTER MARCH MARKET…

  1. Thank so much for the lovely blog; the musings, questions and reflections. We’ve loved the project too, but its time has come. And that’s OK. You’re right, it’s part of the evolution of our city.

Leave a comment