365 DAYS OF PORTRAITS: WEEK 5

Hey you. Come here.

Closer….Closer….I need to tell you something…No come on, closer…It’s okay, I won’t bite…

Wanna know something real fucking good?

I MADE IT PAST MY FIRST MONTH OF THIS PROJECT!!!!  HI-5 Y’ALL!!!

Photo on 6-02-14 at 5.31 pm #3

*MANIC LAUGHING*

Rightio then babes, what did this week bring for me?

  • I was quite excited about this week as it would mark my first photos taken outside of Christchurch.
  • I flew up to Auckland on Tuesday to go to see the “dreamy gloomy swoony swoons” aka. The National play a concert. Therefore the end of this week, and some of next week’s photos will be based in Auckland.
  • Sadly my first approach in Auckland did not go well and I got rejected by some asshole right away. I  don’t mind being told no, but there’s no need to be a smug dickhead about it. Never mind, the many amazing people I ran into in Auckland more than outweighed this twenty seconds of crap…which is what I guess we call putting shit into perspective, right?
  • I met a lot of varied, interesting and lovely people this week – the kid in the first picture, the lovely Rebecca at the gardens, and the uber talented Parah – I had really nice chats to.
  • The final photo for this week, taken at a bar just before the gig, is photographic proof that it’s perfectly acceptable to rock up to a bar alone, sit down with a pint and be confident that you will meet some cool people. The four of us, all complete strangers to each other, had a lovely time, and it was nice to be able to take a photo to capture these random meetings that life throws your way. I’m telling you man, beer and music, it’s the glue that keeps this world united.
  • Urgh…going to Auckland, even so briefly, exploring  and meeting all these new and varied people has given me the travel bug something chronic. I want to get on a plane, explore somewhere new for a few weeks, take my camera and see who the universe throws my way. I GOT THE WANDERLUST FEVER I TELL YOU. (Is anyone our there reading from Iceland? Hi! Hi! I have you in my sights…)

365 DAY PROJECT: WEEK 5

You can view and follow my entire 365 Day Project, here, via Pinterest.

Okay – here’s some of The National (with special swoony guest, John Slattery) to send you on your merry ways:

See you later, Speed Racer.

xo

Leave a comment